National History


Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority was organized on November 12, 1922 in Indianapolis, Indiana by seven educators: Dorothy Hanley Whiteside, Hattie Mae Dulin Redford, Cubena McClure, Bessie M. Downey Rhoades Martin, Vivian White Marbury, Mary Lou Allison Gardner Little and Nannie Mae Gahn Johnson. These ladies banned together to become an incorporated national collegiate sorority on December 30, 1929, when the Alpha charter was granted to Butler University.

Mission Statement:

Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority’s aim is to enhance the quality of life within the community. Public service, leadership development and education of youth are the hallmark of the organization’s programs and activities. Sigma Gamma Rho addresses concerns that impact society educationally, civically and economically.